It consists of artificially placing sperm inside the woman’s uterus. It consists of three stages:

1. Ovarian stimulation. It entails the development of multiple eggs.

2. Sperm preparation. It consists of concentrating motile sperm in the uterine cavity by using sperm capacitation or preparation techniques.

3. Intrauterine insemination. It does not require anesthesia and is usually performed over two consecutive days. For each of them the laboratory must be provided with a sperm sample. The woman should rest for a few minutes once the suitably treated sperm has been deposited in the uterus.

Insemination can be performed with the spouse’s sperm or that of a donor if so required.

Articles of Interest